MIT-World Peace University to felicitates champions of 25th National Road Cycling Championships 2021


Maharashtra state bags the highest number of medals for the third time in the Championship

Panvel Municipal Corporation, in association with MIT World Peace University, organized the 25thNational Road Cycling Championship from 5 March to 8 March 2021 with the support of Cycling Federation of India and Cycling Association of Maharashtra. In the Championship the cyclists from Maharashtra state have bagged the highest number of medals for the third time with 42 points which include 4 gold, 2 silver and 5 bronze medals. In this championship,Haryana state was the runner-up with 38 points and riders from Punjab, Rajasthan,Karnataka, Ladakh, Assam and Telangana state also participated.  The champion teams were felicitated by Mr Pravin V. Patil,Chief Executive Officer – Centre for Industry-Academia Partnerships, MIT World Peace University (MIT-WPU) and Dr. Prashant Dave , Registrar, MIT World Peace University in the presence of Shri Pratap Jadhav , Organising Secretary of Cycling Association of Maharashtra and Treasure of Cycling Federation of IndiaDr. P G Dhanve, Director Of Sports, MIT World Peace University at Swami Vivekananda hall at MIT, Pune.

Women cyclists have made the state proud with the highest number of medals. Pranita Soman, Madhura Waykar, Anjali Ranwade and Priyanka Karande won the medals in 30 KmTeam Time TrialWomen Elite. Also, Madhura Waykar in 20 Km. ITT- Women Elite and Anjali Ranwade in 20 Km. ITT- Women Junior has bagged the medals in the respective categories. Pooja Danole, Tanvi Tarare, Manvhi Patiland Anjali Ranwade won the medals in 20 Km. Team Time TrialWomen Juniors. Snehal Mali won the medal in 10 Km. ITT Youth Girls category.

In the men’s category,Surya Thathu won the medal for 100 Km. Mass Start- Men Under 23 and Sangram Yadav won the medal in10 Km. Ordinary Race- Men Elite category. In Men’s Junior 30 Km. Team Time Trial Aayush Khurana, Sarossh Mundroina, Siddhesh Patil and Synclair Dsouzawon the medals. In 30 Km. Mass Start- Sub Jr. Boys and 20 Km. ITT- Sub Jr. Boys Varad Patil won the medals. Adeep Wagh won a medal in 10 Km. ITT- Youth Boys at the National Road Cycling Championship

Mr Pravin V.Patil, Chief Executive Officer – Centre for Industry-Academia Partnerships, MIT World Peace University (MIT-WPU) said, “at MIT-WPU we always believe that sports should be given equal importance as academics. Today Cycling is evolving into a competitive and professional sport in the country.We are proud that our champions have brought honor to the state. I am confident that the right kind of support and motivation for the players would propel India even higher on the global stage. I’m glad that our state’s women cyclists have stolen the spotlight, and these campaigns will undoubtedly encourage and empower more women to take up cycling.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *